Chocolate Rules! Or Does It?

August 9, 2010

I’m a life-long chocolate lover. But am I a bona fide chocoholic? No doubt my husband and kids would say “yes.”

Ice cream was a big treat when I was growing up. We all had our favorite flavor. Mine was chocolate, of course. I remember being rather adamant about stating my preference, but with six other siblings I didn’t always get my way.

My favorite candy bar was Butterfinger. I still like peanut butter and chocolate together, but now I settle for a small square of dark chocolate after my peanut butter toast. I was thrilled when the reports came out that dark chocolate is good for you. Yahoo! A small amount each day is preferable, but  small is a relative term. Isn’t it?

I keep a bag of “Dove” dark chocolates in my candy jar and I savor my treat with a cup of steaming black coffee. Aah—I’ve in heaven. These small candies are wrapped in foil and have a written message inside to bring you a moment of inspiration. Yesterday’s message made me pause, “Hope is more powerful than chocolate.”

As a child, when I hoped for something it was usually some temporal pleasure like a new toy or book, or chocolate ice cream. Sometimes it was more serious, hoping that some situation would improve. But this type of hope is nebulous. There’s no security or power in wishful thinking.

Later I learned about the kind of hope that is powerful and certain. It is found in faith in Jesus Christ. Because of His sacrificial death and resurrection I have hope of eternal life in Heaven with Him one day. This is not wishful thinking; it is a sure thing. The Bible talks about this kind of hope. “What is faith? It is the confident assurance that what we hope for is going to happen. It is the evidence of things we cannot yet see.” Hebrews 11:1 (NLT) “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His great mercy has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.” 1 Peter 1:3 (NASB)

These foundation truths about hope are more powerful than any other desire or wish. Hope is essential for the human soul, without it we just exist. I can live without chocolate (I think), but I can’t live without hope.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Rules! Or Does It?

  1. Yea, Marilyn! After reading this post, I definitely think you should have a blog. How encouraging. You are a writer! You ARE a writer! You are a WRITER! Keep saying it. I am.

Leave a Reply

