Dancing in the Sun

This summer one of my friends gave me a dancing solar flower. It makes me smile every time I see it dancing in the sunshine. I call it my “happy flower.”

I decided to order a few to give to my friends. When they arrived I was disappointed to see three were broken. I opened all of them to make sure the others were O.K. I placed them in a window with good sun exposure—all but one danced, including the one with the broken flower and another with a missing leaf.

My first thought was to throw out the broken ones, but the more I watched them dancing happily in the sun, I knew I wouldn’t discard them. It wasn’t their fault they weren’t perfect, and they were still doing what they were created to do.

A quiet voice whispered inside my heart, “There’s a lesson here. God looks beyond our imperfections and accepts us just as we are.”  All are beautiful to him and he has a purpose for each of our lives.

Too often I focus on appearances—an attitude instilled in me by a perfectionist mother, who in turn, could never live up to her father’s standards. I’ve fought against this attitude my entire life, with varying degrees of success. At times I’m annoyed with myself and ashamed by my initial response to individuals. Recently I embarrassed myself by making a comment about a woman everyone admired and respected, “even though she isn’t physically attractive.” I sat there with my foot in my mouth, feeling as stupid as I would have looked had I actually been able to accomplish that feat physically.

A friend posted on Facebook a picture of a pit bull with this caption, “I have a dream that one day I will not be judged by my appearance, but by the content of my character.”

I know I’ll never be perfect no matter how hard I try. So why do I try to impose this on others? Colossians 1:22 says our human nature is sinful and imperfect, but in Christ, we are holy and blameless and we stand before God without a single fault.

Just as my “gimpy” flowers dance because of the sun, God wants us to reflect the light of His Son and dance for Him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dancing in the Sun

  1. Vie H. says:

    Love it, Marilyn! And I too bought six of these flowers to share after my neighbor gave me one. The ones I bought came from the Dollar Store, and after keeping them in the sun (but still inside their clam-shells) only one danced. I was about to return the five, but decided to remove the clear plastic packaging. Voila! They all started dancing! Even though the clear plastic shouldn’t have been a barrier (as we don’t think little omissions or indiscretions shouldn’t matter)–it WAS a barrier. Lord, help me to have nothing between my heart and your face.

Leave a Reply

